Saint Petersburg Electrotechnical University "LETI"
the oldest Electrotechnical University in Europe

July 2017

Wednesday even week

Faculties of our university

Eminent scientists of Saint-Petersburg Electrotechnical University "LETI"

Oleg V. Alekseev
(6 April, 1937 - 5 March, 1999)

Rector of LETI (1984 - 1999). Expert in the field of radio transmitting systems for communications, radar and electronic navigation, organizer of technical education.

In 1961 he graduated from the Radio Engineering Faculty of LETI with honors. In the same year he started working in LETI.  hD (1964), Doctor of Technical Sciences (1976), Professor (1977).

Read more (in Russian)

Zhores I. Alferov
(born March 15, 1930)

In 1952 he graduated from the Faculty of Electronic Engineering LETI on a speciality "Electrovacuum engineering".

In 2000 Zhores I. Alferov was awarded the Nobel prize in physics for the development of heterostructures for high-speed electronics and optoelectronics.

Read more (in Russian)

Peter F. Antipin

(13 (25) December, 1890 - 30 October, 1960)

In 1921 he graduated from Electrochemical Faculty of ETI.

Expert in the field of electrochemistry and electrometallurgy, the founder of scientific school of light metals metallurgy.

Read more (in Russian)

Pavel A. Azbukin
(22 June, 1882 - 24 October, 1970)

In 1908 he graduated from ETI, from 1909 to 1928 he was engaged in teaching in ETI.

One of the founders of national scientific and engineering school of long wire connection.

Read more (in Russian)

Aksel I. Berg
(29 October (10 December), 1893 - 9 July, 1979)

Expert in the field of radiotechnics, organizer of science and industry. Initiated the creation of medical-electronic equipment department in LETI.

Professor (1930), Doctor of Technical Sciences (1936), Corresponding Member (1943), Academician of USSR Academy of Sciences (1946). Admiral engineer (1955).

Read more (in Russian)

Vladimir V. Dmitriev
(8 November, 1873 - 29 September, 1946)

In 1898 he graduated from ETI. From 1899 to 1946 he was engaaged in teaching in ETI - LETI. 

Expert in design and construction of power plants. Founder of scientific school of thermal power.

Read more (in Russian)

Imant G. Freyman
(1 May (19 April), 1890 - 8 December, 1929)

One of the founders of national radio engineering, initiator of scientific engineering approach to solving its practical problems.
In 1913 he graduated from ETI. Professor(1921).

Read more (in Russian)

Genrih O. Graftio
(26 December, 1869 - 30 April, 1949)

Prominent Russian engineer and  power engineering scientist, one of the pioneers of native hydropower construction work .

Director of LETI from 1924 to 1925. From 1907-1949 he was engaged in teaching in ETI-LETI. Professor (1921), Academician of USSR Academy of Sciences (1932).

Read more (in Russian)

Ilya V. Grebenshikov (24 June, 1887 - 2 February, 1953)

Prominent Russian chemist and technologist.
Lecturer (1913-1921), Head of the Department of Physical and Theoretical Chemistry of ETI-LETI (1921-1930).

Nikolay N. Kachalov
(11 May,1852 - 14 May, 1909)

Naval officer, electrical engineer. Honorary electrical engineer (1899).

Inspector of Technical School Postal and Telegraph Office (1886-1890). Associate director of ETI (1895-1898). Director of ETI (1898 - 1905).

Read more (in Russian)

Nikolay G. Pisarevsky
(1 November, 1821 - 20 June, 1895)

Expert in the field of electrical communication facilities, public man, organizer and the first director of Russia's first electrotechnical academy.

Director of the Technical School of postal telegraph department(1886 - 1891). Director of LETI (1891 - 1895).

Read more (in Russian)

Alexandr S. Popov
(16 March, 1859 - 13 January, 1906)

Russian physicist and electrical engineer, professor, one of the inventors of radio.

Since 1905 was the first elected director of ETI.

Read more (in Russian)

Sergey A. Rinkevich
(24 June, 1886 - 30 April, 1955)

In 1913 he graduated from ETI , from 1913 to 1955 he was engaged in teaching in ETI.

Expert in the field of electrification of industry, the founder of national school of electric drive.

Read more (in Russian)

Alexandr A. Smurov
(15 January, 1884 - 8 April, 1937)

Director of LETI (1925-1929).

Expertt in the field of high-voltage networks and transmission of electrical energy. Organizer and head of the first in Russia department of high-voltage engineering.

Read more (in Russian)

Valentin P. Vologdin
(22 March, 1881 - 23 April, 1953)

The founder of the high frequencies technique in Russia. He created the world's first high-voltage mercury rectifiers.

From 1924 he was professor in LETI.

Read more (in Russian)

Pavel D. Voynarovskiy
(15 February, 1866 - 26 June, 1913)

Director of LETI from 1906 to 1912.

Scientist-encyclopaedist in electrical engineering, telecommunication, electric power transmission by air and cable lines.

Read more (in Russian)

Useful information

International Students Office admissions

PR department media

Webmaster website